Wychavon elects new chairman

A new Chairman has been elected to Wychavon District Council.

During an Annual Council Meeting on Wednesday (22 July), Cllr Robert Raphael was elected to take on the role.

The councillor for the Evesham North ward will take over from Cllr Frances Smith, who has served for the past two years. Cllr Alex Sinton was also confirmed as the new Vice Chairman.

Wychavon’s Annual Council meeting should have taken place on 13 May, however, due to coronavirus, it was cancelled.

In order to comply with Government advice on social distancing, a short ceremony was held outside the Civic Centre in Pershore where Cllr Frances Smith handed over the chain.

The main role of the Chairman is to act as a non-political, civic and ceremonial head of the district of Wychavon. They also chair council meetings, act as official host to visitors of the district, represent the district at civic and ceremonial events and promote public involvement in the council's activities.

share this article via: